HomeUS News40 House Democrats Announce Plan to Ban Trump from Becoming President Again

40 House Democrats Announce Plan to Ban Trump from Becoming President Again

Published on

Democrats ridicule former President Donald Trump as an insignificant has-been, but their preemptive attempt to prevent him from ever returning to the White House demonstrates that their verbal confidence is fake.

Citing a distorted reading of Section 3 of the 14th Amendment to the United States Constitution, 40 House Democrats proposed legislation on Thursday to prevent Trump from holding the presidency or any other federal office.

“No person shall be a Senator or Representative in Congress, or elector of President and Vice-President … who, having previously taken an oath … to support the Constitution of the United States, shall have engaged in insurrection or rebellion against the same.” states Section 3.

In essence, Democratic lawmakers assert that Trump, a leading candidate for the 2024 Republican presidential nomination, is unqualified to serve as president because he led a “insurrection” against the United States.

This is why Democrats and their media allies have relentlessly pushed the absurd talking point that Trump incited his followers to topple the government during the January 6, 2021 invasion of the Capitol.

Rhode Island Representative David Cicilline, a former impeachment manager and senior member of the House Judiciary Committee, is spearheading the campaign to prevent Trump’s return to the White House.

The lawmaker had indicated last month that he would advocate for a ban on Trump.

Cicilline stated in a press statement on Thursday, “Donald Trump very clearly engaged in an insurrection on January 6, 2021 with the intention of overturning the lawful and fair results of the 2020 election. You don’t get to lead a government you tried to destroy.”

Other Democrats who co-sponsored the bill include Reps. Earl Blumenauer; Jamaal Bowman; Tony Cardenas; Andre Carson; Sean Casten; Judy Chu; Yvette Clarke; Emanuel Cleaver II; Gerald Connolly; Danny Davis; Mark DeSaulnier; Adriano Espaillat; Dwight Evans; Jimmy Gomez; Al Green; Sheila Jackson Lee; Pramila Jayapal; Henry Johnson Jr.; Mondaire Jones; Conor Lamb; Barbara Lee; Ted Lieu; Alan Lowenthal; James McGovern; Jerry McNerney; Marie Newman; Eleanor Holmes Norton; Donald Payne Jr.; Chellie Pingree; Lucille Roybal-Allard; Jan Schakowsky; Mark Takano; Rashida Tlaib; Ritchie Torres; Nydia Velázquez; Bonnie Watson Coleman; Nikema Williams; and Frederica Wilson.

Numerous Twitter users stated that the Democrats’ action demonstrates their fear of Trump’s likely re-election.

“They can’t get him legally even with all allegations and investigations. No indictments and no convictions,” tweeted a Trump fan.

“He was found not guilty of insurrection by Congress, but yet they seek to bar him from office for insurrection.”

More on this story via The Western Journal:

Another commenter said Democrats haven’t been able to nail Trump despite launching countless investigations and are now trying to make up rules to block him from the White House. CONTINUE READING…

Latest articles

Pentagon Confirms a Second Chinese Surveillance Balloon Has Been Spotted

Friday, the Pentagon disclosed that a second Chinese surveillance balloon had been sighted in...

FBI Now Involved in Investigation of GOP Lawmaker’s Death as It’s Revealed She Was Shot 7 Times in Head: Report

WABC-TV reports that the FBI is participating in the investigation of the Wednesday evening...

Republican Lawmaker Found Dead In Her Car With Multiple Gunshot Wounds in Reported ‘Targeted Attack’

This week, a recently elected Republican councilwoman was murdered in front of her home,...

Matt Gaetz’s Amendment to Say Pledge of Allegiance Causes Dems to Absolutely Lose It

Rep. Matt Gaetz of Florida proposed an amendment to the House Judiciary Committee's rules...

More like this